Free Quotation
4.7 / 5 - 68 ratings

Review details

  • 23-05-201710
    Name
    Carol Nickerson
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    The Handicare Stairlift won't turn towards the top stairs and it’s wobbly. That’s dangerous especially for people that can hardly even move. It’s also expensive. Medicare and Medicaid used to pay for those chairs but some people were using them as decorations on their house, which is stupid. Because if I had a choice I wouldn't want one of those in my house. But they have good lawyers working for them to make excuses to get the prices high. And when you get older and you end up getting in this kind of condition that I'm in, you can't afford to be spending money. Plus, I'm retired and I'm trying to raise my grandchildren at the same time. Insurance should pay for it because you would not like to be crippled. You want to stay healthy and good.

  • 23-05-20178
    Name
    Daniel Sanders
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I didn't like the Handicare salesman who came here. He was talking one thing and then the day he came to measure he's like, "Oh no, you need a hinge at the bottom of the stairs." But it's $200 more, so I felt a little taken aback. That should have been talked about and mentioned. As it was when we worked it out where I didn't need one. But I like the installation guys. They were really good. And the stairlift is serving its purpose so we're very happy with it.

  • 23-05-201710
    Name
    David Hawthorne
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Handicare was recommended to us by people who had done it. The representative who helped with our purchase was very informative and covered all of the questions that we had about it. He also did the installation and he did fine, only took about two hours. Overall, Handicare has good people, good price, and it's a good equipment.

  • 05-05-201710
    Name
    Sheldon Magier
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I was researching stairlifts for my wife and when I was reading the history of Handicare, they seemed to be a company with a good background and it gave me the trust in calling them up. There were two people I dealt with. Edward was the person who installed the stairlift. A second person came towards the end to give him a final assist. Both were very knowledgeable and helpful. It was a positive experience. My wife goes well with the stairlift and I’m amazed that I can get up and down the stairs without any trouble. The results that were achieved were beyond our expectations.

  • 10-04-201710
    Name
    Xavier Terrazas
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I ordered in November and it was install January 3, 2017. I had problems with the delivery day but they managed to have it delivered in time. Great customer service and a great job done by the Orlando office. This was installed for my mother-in-law who happens to be 95 years old and I live on the second floor. It was a blessing for her to be able to come up and down with ease. It was the best three months she had living in Florida for the winter season. I'm hoping she makes it again next year and next year and next year. If not then it was worth every penny to see the joy in her face. Again Handicare great job on your services and your effort in coming through to get this installed in a timely manner.

  • 28-02-201710
    Name
    Lee Smith
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I just had gone through two back surgeries so I was struggling to get up the steps but thanks to Handicare, I'm getting up and down the stairs now. I found the company through the ConsumerAffairs' site and their free-form stairlift conformed to our stairwell much better. During purchase, a young man designed a program which was very good. They have a computer-aided design system that let us put down little markers and they can calculate the chair lift/chair slope for the rail all the way up. I could see a computer-generated illustration of what it looks like in our stairwell or how much of the stairwell it takes up. Also, the product's made separately in Holland, assembled and tested, before it comes here to be put in.One guy started installation then another joined him later on. I let them have their space because they had a lot of parts to put together and they did it well within the time that they said they would when it got here. And it works. The chair is self-centering even if we have vicious slope changes. We have a two-run staircase with a one-step well halfway up. So, the chair has to go up, level out, change, and then guide itself into a climb to get up. It pulls down around the bottom of the stairwell all the way into a parking place. It’s perfect and our landing is big enough that it’s far enough away from the stairwell that I don’t lose any traffic to it. And it folds out of the way, too. So far, I would recommend Handicare. Their system, though a bit more expensive than the others, fits our needs better.

  • 28-02-20178
    Name
    Gayle Kemper
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I had a broken ankle and needed a stairlift to get up my stairs. My sister and I looked online and Handicare had the best rating. It was all right with them. However, I had a little problem in the beginning because they lost my check. I had to put a stop on it and get another check. I had to wait for them to pay me for the stopped check, which they said they would, but it took quite a while that I didn't get it and I had to keep calling them. But other than that, the salesman was great and the chair's working good thus far.

  • 27-02-201710
    Name
    Kathleen Ackman
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Handicare was willing to come out to the house right away and give an estimate. Interactions with their sales reps were good, as well. They were fast and knew everything about their product. The installer was also great and knowledgeable. I really like the stairlift. It’s like having an elevator to get to the second floor.

  • 19-02-201710
    Name
    Sharon Long
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I did a lot of research after I had already committed to another company. I’ve read some of the comments about their chairlift and they were negative. So I looked up the number one stairlift in Florida and the one for Handicare came up. It was good that I did that because I know I’m happier with the stairlift that I bought from Handicare than I would have been with the other one. Handicare has a lifetime motor guarantee and their extended warranty also was beneficial.The representative was great, courteous, professional and knowledgeable about the product. The explanation of the product and the warranties and the features sold me. The installation of the product was really quick and the installer did a very professional job too. He had given me a step-by-step on how they did it because my husband was very concerned. We just put new carpet in, and the installer was explaining exactly where he would put it and how it’d look against the wall and some extra safety tips.I feel very secure on the stairlift and it’s comfortable. I can now get upstairs and be with my family. I’m very satisfied with Handicare. I would definitely recommend it to anybody who had any stairs. As a matter of fact, my husband is thinking of putting one outside for me ‘cause I haven’t been able to go back down off our deck for the last four years.

  • 18-02-201710
    Name
    Shirley Salau
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I like the price of Handicare compared to another provider so I purchased from them. Their sales rep was very nice, informative, and helpful. He took his time to explain and went all out his way, so we really appreciated that and he was more impressive than the rep from another provider. That same guy took care of the installation. He showed us how to use the stairlift, made sure that we use a safety belt. He also showed us the paperwork in case we wanted a tax return. We felt like he had our best interest in mind and we were grateful for his service. If ever we wanted to take the stairlift out or move it or give it back, they can help us do all of them. I love it. I could just sit in the chair and press the button to go up, and I don’t have to worry about taking up the flight. Overall, they were very good. When we asked for assistance, they came and did the job right away.

  • 17-02-201710
    Name
    Ann Turner
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Our experience with Handicare Stairlifts has been very good and very efficient. It was the most accessible from where we live at the time that we got it and the rep who assisted us with our purchase was fabulous. He was very personable and very knowledgeable, and answered all our questions. He did not try to push for us to get it. He just explained the different options and was very helpful. He was very clear about the warranties as well. He also told us that we can remove it if we ever sell the house and take it with us which was a revelation that I hadn't even thought about.When the chair tilted when my husband tried to get out of it a couple of days ago, Handicare sent someone out this morning and he knew exactly what the problem was. It had something to do with a bolt and he fixed it immediately. He came early and was efficient. Handicare has made my husband's life a lot more enjoyable. The stairlift is convenient for him. It gets him up to our second floor without him struggling up the stairs, which was becoming harder and harder for him.

  • 16-02-20178
    Name
    Digby MacDonald
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I did a search for stair lifts and I like Handicare Stairlifts' price and the lack of negative comments and rip-off so we went with them. We had several companies who gave us a call and tried the hard sell on us even though we told them we weren't interested. We compared what was offered by different companies and Handicare was by far, the most reasonable, not only on price but also in their presentation of the material. Also, our interaction with their reps has been a very good experience. Their installation team was fine. However, there’s a two or three inch gap between the lift installed and the wall going up the stairs. My wife thought that it should have been a bit closer but I don't blame them because they asked me whether that was okay for me when putting it in and I said it's okay. But she would have liked it to have been a few inches closer to give us more room on the stairs. Nevertheless, it looks good and it operates very well. I've used it quite often since it was installed and it's a good system. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience and I appreciated their professionalism.

  • 29-08-201610
    Name
    Elaine Zimmerman
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    When we called Handicare, their people came the next day to talk and it didn’t take long at all. Their installers were very quick and they cleaned up after themselves. They talked to my son about how to operate it. The sales rep also came back and worked with me afterwards because I felt panicky when I was on the stairlift. He was a great help to me. I feel much safer and I’m no longer panicky on it. I was having difficulty on the steps, but now the stairlift helps me stay in my own home.

  • 18-08-201610
    Name
    Grace Markel
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I liked the people that I was dealing with at Handicare. Everybody was so helpful. The men that put the stairlift in were nice and there wasn’t a thing laying around anywhere. The stairlift ride is very smooth and my husband loves it. We’re very pleased with it and would recommend it to any of my friends.

  • 10-08-201610
    Name
    James Lawes
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Handicare's product and service were great. The only negative thing is that they try and sell you on service for the chair as soon as you get it. If it costs $3,000, I sure as hell don't think I should be having service for my chair for a year. But in the line of chairs, it was a reasonable price comparatively. The people were also very nice and came quickly. Same person that I talked to was the same person that put it in and there's not a lot of mess to make.It has also helped us quite a bit and we love it. It's worth every penny and I'm surprised at how safe it is for an older person. However, the seat belt is small and not easy to use for older people that don't have good dexterity in their fingers. There should be some kind of latch for people with arthritis because my mother cannot do it and I don't let her use it without me there. We practiced and we tried but we could not get it to go. So it's nice looking and it works if you have the dexterity to push the button but maybe they could tweak that.

  • 26-06-201610
    Name
    Michael Teutsch
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Handicare Stairlifts offers my wife the assistance that she needs to go up and down the stairs so it's a big help. It took about four weeks before it was delivered. We had to call and ask Handicare about the delivery but they didn't have an answer from the factory as to when it will be shipped. Then when they got it, they had to fix it because it was making noise. Aside from that, there's a couple of things with it that we're not satisfied with. It takes 30 seconds for it to start before it engages which gets my wife confused. Then when she gets up on the top of the stairs, she has to turn the machine to get off which gives her a big problem to get on with her feet. It's something simple to operate and it goes up and down but it could have more conveniences that could make using it easier.

  • 24-06-201610
    Name
    Timothy Kidman
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I was sold on the idea that it’s better to work with someone that works directly with the company, like a manufacturing rep, as opposed to a third-party like a medical distributor. It made a lot of sense to deal with someone like that. I found out that Handicare does that kind of selling so I called their people out, and I found the person that I talked to to be knowledgeable of the product and the competitor’s products. And their installation guy was very sharp technically, quite knowledgeable and a good guy even though it was the first time he’s done an installation on this particular product with this technology. He had a headphone and a microphone and he was on the line with the headquarters or the central people in installation. He took his time, made sure everything was right, double tested everything, and did an excellent job. After that, the follow up has been very good. One of the things I like with this stairlift is that I can stop at any place and it’ll charge no matter where I stop. That way, I don’t have to keep it necessarily at the bottom where it may get in somebody’s way or at the top. I can do it at the right spot in the stairwell where people won’t work around it. I only had one small problem: the seat had a very fine cut in it. I just wanted to let somebody know about that and they were very responsive and I think they’ll continue to be responsive. If they give that kind of attention to a minor problem then with the major stuff, it’ll be better. So it was a very intellectual experience dealing with everybody. They seemed to know what they were doing. I felt they knew what features I should have and which ones I shouldn’t have and didn’t try to sell everything. And as it turned out, I injured my leg (separate from my Parkinson’s) and I needed the chair much earlier, and it was a good thing it was in and a good thing it operated reliably.

  • 18-06-20168
    Name
    Ronald Sherwood
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    A doctor brought up Handicare Stairlifts and we got interested. We installed it but my wife can't use it. She's only got about 3 months to live, she can’t walk and in bed now. So we're gonna have the stairlift removed. At first, we had problems installing it because all the parts weren't there. It wasn't the right part so they had to put a delay on that and order another part. It took about a week before they could get back out. Then after the guy got the part and was setting it up, he broke something which caused delay again to get another part. We're disappointed and not too happy. But, the installation team was very good except for new guy who broke a part. The foreman apologized up and down for the it and said he'd give us a discount on the purchase price because of all the wait.

  • 17-06-201610
    Name
    Elissa Ditchcreek
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I went to Walnut Medical and heard about Handicare. I purchased one and the reps who assisted me were marvelous. Their installers were also very well organized. They brought all their supplies in boxes and they asked me if they were in the way. I had no complaints whatsoever. They were fantastic and Handicare is really a big help. Everything, so far, is working fine.

  • 17-06-20168
    Name
    Samuel DiSantis
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    It was a nice experience with Handicare. I like the ride up and down with the chairlift. The salesman was very friendly. He explained everything and how they worked. Then the gentleman that put it in was very cooperative. He did a nice job and left everything very clean and neat. Too bad that he had to work all day, but I suppose planning is their office. The only thing was that the salesman promised me a safety belt that was included but wasn’t in the package. I called him once and reminded him that I might need that safety belt, but I haven’t heard anything else. I’m still waiting and I don’t know whether I’ll get them or not.

  • 17-06-20166
    Name
    Rene Goldenberg
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    My son installed the stairlift and it came missing a part, so he couldn’t put it in the day that he started to put it in. Then a manager came to install because all of his team was in a meeting in Pennsylvania. He was very clean and nice. I only have a stairlift because my children didn’t want me to climb stairs since I have a broken hip. I also have had a stroke and when I get to the top and I have to turn the chair, it's very hard to do. The stairlift is fine except that they have to get me out of the bedroom. If I have to call an emergency vehicle, they couldn’t get up the stairs. The stairlift gets me up the stairs but it does not leave enough room for my aide to walk up. I have to send them up ahead of me because the chair takes up most of the stairwell -- which I didn’t know when they started to put it in. And if we’re putting it in an average stairwell, then we have to know that if somebody has to be taken out of their room, the firemen will have to carry them down.

  • 22-05-201610
    Name
    Barbara Smith
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I went and inquired about Handicare Stairlift and had a great experience with the rep who assisted me with my purchase. The installation team came and installed the system and it was wonderful. They cleaned up after themselves and explained everything. I got the stairlift for my mom so she'd be able to go up or down the stairs without a worry and she has been enjoying it and there haven't been any problems.

  • 15-05-20168
    Name
    Richard Streepen
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I like that with Handicare I don’t have to walk up the stairs. The rep who assisted me seemed professional and very punctual. Their installers were pleasant and were only here a couple of hours. It was a simple and very effective installation which met my needs in a timely fashion. With some of the things that I've done, I contact the contractor and that’s two or three months before they can come give me an estimate. But with Handicare, I called them on a Thursday, we had an appointment on Monday, and then it was installed the following Thursday.

  • 15-05-20164
    Name
    John Smithson
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Not impressed so far with the Handicare stairlift. I’m very close to calling them and ask them to come out and look at it again. First of all, when they installed it, for whatever reason, the screw plate at the center position about halfway up the stairs sheared off the head of one of the bolts. It just broke off. There might have been some kind of strain. They came out and put another screw in, but the device creaks and rattles and it sounds like there's stuff rolling around inside the device as I use it. It's very noisy. So I'm gonna call them again to tell them to come back out and find out what's wrong with it because it's making way too much noise and it shouldn't. It sounds like an old car.

  • 11-05-201610
    Name
    Clyde McCloud
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Handicare Stairlifts sounded like a good outfit and the installer was a local person. They gave a good service and I could get anything I needed from him. Their rep and installers were great. I like the stairlift because my wife uses it. She’s the one that has the problem. She gets on it to get her down the stairs and we put her in the car. When we get back, she gets right back on it and rides back upstairs. It’s a good product.

  • 11-05-201610
    Name
    Mary Douglas
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    My knees were hurting every step going down my stairs and back up, so I really needed a stairlift. When the gentleman from Handicare came, he was very thorough in the measurements and really seemed to care. Everything went well during the installation. I really enjoy the stairlift. Just like today, I came home from shopping and I could get on my stairlift and pack my packages around me and bring them upstairs. Before, it was really hard (the more weight you put on your knees, the more it hurts). I'm thoroughly pleased with Handicare.

  • 11-05-201610
    Name
    Regina Petrilla
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I went to a Medicare or Medicaid shop for my oxygen and happened to see a Handicare Stairlift there. My husband purchased it. During the installation, their team was very good. I use it and it works fine.

  • 30-01-201610
    Name
    Susan McCoy
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I needed a stairlift and found Handicare online. I visited them, and the owner was really nice and answered all my questions. The purchase was a pretty quick transaction. The Handicare stairlift works great, no problems with it. I feel confident that Handicare would be there if anything goes wrong. Also, I like that it's a local company. Overall, Handicare Stairlifts met my needs very well.

  • 30-01-201610
    Name
    Paul Palmer
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    My previous stairlift died so I replaced it with a Handicare Stairlift. This new one is working beautifully and its installation was pretty simple. The team that did it was courteous and cleaned after themselves. A guy from Handicare has repaired stairlifts at my house as well as my mother's, and he was excellent. Actually, we're in line to get one exactly like my mother's and overall, our experience with Handicare Stairlifts has been very satisfying.

  • 30-01-201610
    Name
    Rose Marie Sharkey
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I purchased a Handicare stairlift about 18 years ago for my mother. I have one now and I’m enjoying it very much. It’s a wonderful thing because it makes it easier for me to get from one level of my house to the next. Plus, it gets what I need like my groceries up to my second level. Not to mention, the Handicare representative was helpful. He came out because my stairlift was broken and he secured me a new one. He knew what I needed and installed it in a timely manner.

  • 28-01-201610
    Name
    Joann Allen
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    We had nothing but good experience with Handicare's reps and installers. And we're very pleased with everything associated with the stair lift. The up and down feature worked well for my husband.

  • 28-01-201610
    Name
    Anita Chandler
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    A friend gave us a flier for Handicare Stairlifts. When we made our purchase from them, we had an excellent interaction with their rep who assisted us - very kind and easy to deal with. Also, their installers did a very good job. Our favorite part about our purchase is that the chairs turn so they can be safe on the landing and the chair can be changed in height so that my mother-in-law can slide right off easily. However, there is a negative feature that I don't like about it. The low-chain that the chair climbs on is open and it gets greasy. My mother-in-law got grease on her clothes and on the carpet. The stairlift has to be greased every so often too so that will never be gone. If Handicare had a casing, she wouldn't catch grease. But that aside, everything else has been fine.

  • 25-01-201610
    Name
    Edward Schopf
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I went to HomeAdvisor and picked three stairlift companies. They all came out and Handicare was the one with the best price and best guarantee. The man also said he would back me up with service, which he did. I had a problem with the stairlift hitting the top crown of the stair. The rug was causing it to stop and it wasn’t going all the way up. The man came out and put washers under it. He said he doesn't know why Handicare doesn’t make a blueprint of the foot and make a flat plate to go underneath the foot to raise it up instead of putting little round washers. Also, the remote control buttons for going up and down the stairs are four inches large. It could be upgraded to make them smaller. Nevertheless, the stairlift is wonderful.

  • 24-01-20166
    Name
    Rosemary Morris
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Handicare gave me better options than the other providers and what they suggested worked out for me. However, we had problems when the stairlift went down one time and we couldn't get it to work. They had to order a part and then the people who supply it didn't want to and it was still in warranty. It went on and on for over a month. It was very stressful. Luckily I still can walk the stairs but it's very difficult for me, and that's why I got it. But other than that, everything's been fine. A guy interacted with me and eventually got it fixed.

  • 24-01-201610
    Name
    Debbie Miller
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Handicare Stairlift helped us out with our mother in getting her up in her bedroom. She can walk but she can't go up and down the stairs. Also, their rep who assisted us with our purchase has done good as well as the installers. We just had it in three weeks till she passed away so I had called to see if they would take it back but they wouldn’t so it’s still here on the stairs.

  • 24-01-201610
    Name
    Ronald Merritt
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    It has been a great experience with Handicare Stairlifts, I had no problems. I've had a positive interaction with the rep who assisted me with purchase and with the installation team.

  • 21-01-201610
    Name
    Addie Cole
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Our experience is good and Handicare is very helpful. My husband and I sometimes get tired particularly at the end of the day and that's where the Handicare chair comes in. It helps us in going up and down the stairs. It also helps us take our laundry up. We would recommend it to any person who easily gets very tired in going up and down the steps. We highly recommend it. A friend in her 80s got hers through Medicare.

  • 21-01-201610
    Name
    Peggy Curtis
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I love our Handicare steps. My husband tells me he can't go up and down without them. Also, their sales reps couldn't have been better and so are the installation guys. They were extremely nice. Everything worked out perfectly as I expected and more for it to be.

  • 21-01-201610
    Name
    Cynthia Johnson
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I'm very happy with my lift chair. It takes me up and down the steps. Handicare's rep that assisted me with my purchase was very helpful and the installers were very courteous. I'd recommend them to anybody.

  • 21-01-201610
    Name
    Dianna Ritchie
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    The Handicare stairlift is a great piece of equipment for my father. It has helped him a lot. The representative who helped me with the purchase was great. He's a good installer too.

  • 21-01-201610
    Name
    Priscilla Sartorius
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    We had a good interactions with the representative who helped us with our purchase of the Handicare Stairlift. The installation team were also courteous. The Handicare Stairlift is very necessary and it works.

  • 20-01-201610
    Name
    Diane Barron
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    We love our Handicare. My husband was in a lot of pain and had back surgery. Our bedrooms are upstairs so he uses it everyday. I like that it is enclosed. We had one before when my mother lived with us, and it is open. The grandkids would drop things and it'd get caught up in the exposed cable down underneath the chair and create problems.

  • 20-01-201610
    Name
    Steve Brown
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Handicare Stairlift is absolutely wonderful. I have a need and it fills that need.

  • 20-01-201610
    Name
    Margery Capriott
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    My Handicare stairlift gets me to where I want to go. The team at Handicare was very nice and I’d recommend them.

  • 20-01-201610
    Name
    Janet Chopein
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Handicare has been a lifesaver for me. The representatives who assisted us with our purchase were very courteous. They answered all of our questions and we had no problems at all. When the installation team came, my husband was there and he says they did a great job. Getting up the steps is what I like best about the Handicare stairlift.

  • 20-01-201610
    Name
    Darlene Clavadone
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Handicare has been a lifesaver for my husband. My dentist's brother-in-law, Steve, is a Handicare rep. He told me about it and also did the installation. He was terrific and very nice. I was very impressed at how he made sure it worked good and had me test it. I like that we don't have to walk the steps. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • 15-01-201610
    Name
    Joe Demarco
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I learned about Handicare Stairlift through my niece, who’s a nurse. I got it for my mother-in-law when she was alive and she enjoyed it. Now I’m using it. My legs got a little stiff because I stopped walking a lot after my dog passed away. There are a lot of things I can use the stairlift for. When I overload my clothes basket, I put it on the chair and send it up with the remote control, then I walk up and take it off the chair because it’s too bulky going up the steps. I might get another for the middle floor. The representative who assisted me with my purchase was very good to me, did very well and gave me a fair price for two of the Handicare. The installation team did a wonderful job.

  • 15-01-201610
    Name
    Monica Hampton
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    One of the main factors we chose Handicare as our stairlift provider is because it’s one of the slimmer line ones, unlike others that stick off the wall. We’re actually using it for a kid, and our stairwell is narrow, so we didn’t want a big, bulky one that took up a lot of room. The person who assisted me with the purchase was like a middleman. We went through a company to get it. And the company we went through was pretty good. However, my son was also on a program and so we were trying to get it funded through his program. That’s only because Handicare’s stairlift isn’t the common one that is funded through the program. But we partially paid for a chunk out of pocket, and I’m sure it’s because with some people they need to get 100% covered. But they hadn’t, perhaps, dealt tons with this specific stairlift. They were very pleasant to deal with, but we had lots of road bumps when it came to getting in the actual stairlift to us. The company which served as the middleman, was nice to deal with. But there were lots of exchanges that went on between the local companies here and Handicare, and it had to be a special order. Perhaps it was because of the additional length or the glide factor. And I’m guessing something happened in the communications between the local company and Handicare, as it didn’t arrive when it was supposed to. It took months, more than it was supposed to, and we had to cancel a trip because of that. And when it did arrive, we were down to some very tight timing. It arrived somewhere on the east coast, then they said they were sending it, but it hadn’t gotten sent. It was a huge mess. When it finally arrived, they installed it, but there was some board that had gotten blown out and none of the local vendors had it. Those were huge issues, physically getting the stairlift to our house, and then getting it all up and working because there were some parts that didn’t work. That was a huge headache. On the other hand, it’s a fabulous stairlift. I love it. An area for improvement is the “eye” in the remote which could be made stronger, mainly for our kid who can’t operate it. But apart from that, I’m so ecstatic with our choice. The glide feature is totally worth it. Lots of caution on the delivery aspect, but with the product itself, I would fully recommend it.

  • 15-01-20168
    Name
    Charles Abner
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Handicare Stairlift is a good transporter. We haul stuff up and down the stairs that we used to have to carry. One representative told my wife that it could hold a certain number of pounds and she could get on there with a sack of potatoes. That's not good because a sack of potatoes only weighs 10 lbs. But the man from the company where we got the stairlift from had a very good level of knowledge and was pleasant and courteous. We chose Handicare over a different stairlift provider because of its cost.

  • 15-01-201610
    Name
    Phronsie Hart
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    With Handicare Stairlift, I don't have to walk up the steps. Their staff are honest, delightful and not pushy. I'm very satisfied with them and even my 11-year-old granddaughter wants one. Everybody should get one ten years before they need it.

  • 15-01-201610
    Name
    Judy Pierce
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I stopped by Office Interiors for seniors and found out about Handicare. I called them and I liked it. The people in their office and the people who installed it were wonderful! My husband had an amputation, and he can get on the stairlift easily and operate it himself. It works beautifully and perfectly, so we love it. We’re even thinking about getting an additional part to it to make it go down the basement for my husband.

  • 15-01-201610
    Name
    Reza Sameri
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    In 2013, my wife had a heart attack. She was intubated and then got trach. She also got pneumonia and lost her kidneys, so we needed a stairlift for her. The reps from Handicare who assisted us were good and very courteous. They measured and sent it to be built in England and came back when the device got here and installed it. Our stairlift is special-made because it's not a straight going up. It's a lifesaver. If I have a problem, as soon as I call them they're here.

  • 15-01-20168
    Name
    James Shannon
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    We've had a fine experience with Handicare Stairlift. We use it occasionally and we're happy with it.

  • 15-01-201610
    Name
    Charles Bassy
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    The representative was very knowledgeable of questions I was asking and made a good impression. She came out and looked at what I was trying to do. I chose Handicare because of the availability of repair service if I need it. Everything with the installation team was topnotch. I had a good experience with Handicare from start to finish. I would recommend them.

  • 15-01-201610
    Name
    Wanda Bollman
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    The Handicare sales rep was just learning but was very good. The installation team was also good. I love my stairlift and I've already recommended Handicare to a few people.

  • 15-01-201610
    Name
    Karen Broido
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I've been very happy with the experience. Handicare works great and it's very attractive. We have a circular staircase, and at the foot of the staircase I have a space, a well. I would have liked it if it could have gone back into the well, it would just been more out of the way. But other than that, it’s been great.

  • 15-01-201610
    Name
    Karen Fritsch
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Handicare Stairlifts has been very helpful and definitely done the job. I'd recommend it to a friend.

  • 14-01-201610
    Name
    Betty Dantzler
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    We purchased a Handicap Stairlift for my daughter-in-law and all of the representatives who assisted us in our purchase were very professional, equipped and easy to deal with. The guy who sold it to us also installed it.

  • 14-01-201610
    Name
    Valerie Durham
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I was looking on the internet for a local stairlift dealer and saw Handicare in Red Bank. I contacted them and they were very helpful. I chose them because of their proximity as I preferred a local person than somebody coming up from Atlanta. I really liked them so I stuck with them. Their representative was very reassuring and kind. The installation team was very helpful and explained the aspects of the system to me. My husband used the stairlift a lot, and it was extremely useful for a couple of months. I'm 79 years old and I might need it some time so we're hanging on to it. It was quite satisfactory, and I was very pleased with it.

  • 14-01-201610
    Name
    Enid Halderson
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    My Handicare Stairlift had to be specially built for my stairs, so it was a special order. The guys who came to do the installation were very polite and I didn't have any problems with them. They moved efficiently and did it in a matter of time. The stairlift works and I'm glad to have it. I'm 96 years old and I need it - it takes me up and down the stairs. I'm overall satisfied.

  • 14-01-201610
    Name
    Kenneth Hull
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    Overall, I had a very gratifying experience with Handicare. The man who assisted me was in business for himself. He's the salesman and he also did the installation. He explained everything to me and he did a good job. I'm satisfied with it.

  • 14-01-20166
    Name
    LaVerne Crun
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I feel that the Handicare stairlift isn’t really built for the average frame. The seat is not deep enough and you have to over bend the legs. The chair seems to be built for a child in terms of the distance from the back of the hip to the bend of the knee. It’s amazing that it’s not any deeper than it is, and the leg from knee to foot is so small.

  • 10-01-201610
    Name
    Eleanor Bowden
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I like the Handicare stairlift and I’ve enjoyed it very much. I have a split-level house. So I have one going down the stairs into the lower level and then another one in the living level, going up and down. I’ve been very pleased and definitely would recommend Handicare.

  • 10-01-201610
    Name
    Eleanor Bowden
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I've enjoyed Handicare Stairlift very much. I have a split-level house and I have two - one going down the stairs into the lower level and another one in the living level, going up and down. I've been very pleased. The representative who assisted with my purchase was very pleasant. The installation team was courteous and cleaned up after themselves. I like that I can get in and ride up and down the steps.

  • 10-01-201610
    Name
    Carmen Allen
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    The Handicare Stairlift has been a real lifesaver for us. My husband is not able to walk on his own and there is no way in or out of our house without stairs. So the stairlift was a necessity and it's been really good for us. The gentleman who did the installation was great too. It was a one-day process and we've been very pleased with it.

  • 10-01-201610
    Name
    Merlene Kavender
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    I can't walk and I have rheumatoid arthritis so I had therapists sent over to my house. One of the nurses recommended Handicare Stairlift and my husband wanted to get it right away because he can't walk. We both need it because neither of us could get up and down the steps. The company rep was a really nice guy. I asked him some questions and he knew everything. He did the installation and it took him an hour to do it. I haven't been down the steps in three years but I can now go downstairs with the stairlift. Overall, it's handy and I'm glad my husband talked me into getting it. I've even recommended it to other people.

  • 10-01-201610
    Name
    Cozy Pelzer
    Do you recommend Handicare
    Yes

    Strong points:

    My Handicare chairlift is dead as a door nail right now. When I had to work with painting the house, they didn't move it all the way to the end so, it's probably de-charged and I need to get someone to give it a jump start. But when it's working, it's great. My contractor who is very trustworthy told me about it and put me in touch with the company. They came and it sounded good to me so we went with it. Their representatives were very professional and did a good job. My house would not accommodate an elevator so it has made a huge difference to me.

Blog


5 Common Stairlift Myths Answered

Myth #1: Stairlifts are fixed to the wall and cause damage to décor. It is ...

Read more

Local stairlift companies

handicare_usa-overview.jpg


Nationwide coverage provided by fully trained stairlift professionals.

Handicare is proud to have the nation’s largest network of certified dealers.

Find your dealer

Free stairlift brochure

handicare-brochure-home.png

Request your free copy

We hope you found what you were looking for

pop-up.jpgFind the best stairlift

Complete our 'find the best stairlift' tool to find the best solution. 

Find the best stairlift